CPNAS - Cultural Programs of the National Academy of Sciences
Print Page

Four Nations Ensemble with Rosa Lamoreaux, soprano

Sunday, November 3, 2013, 3:00 p.m.

NAS Auditorium, 2101 Constitution Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C.

Free and open to the public. Registration and photo ID required.

Click and Register

Founded in 1986, The Four Nations Ensemble brings together vocal and period instrument soloists to present music dating from the Renaissance through the Viennese classical masterpieces of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven. For more than two decades, Four Nations has developed a leading presence on the early music scene in New York and across the country. With a core ensemble of harpsichord or fortepiano, violin(s), flute, and cello, the Ensemble explores and performs the major masterpieces of the 17th and 18th centuries, from trio sonata to piano trio and quartet. Four Nations has performed at major houses and series through the United States including The Kennedy Center and Lincoln Center. The Ensemble has participated in festivals including The Boston Early Music Festival, New York's Mostly Mozart, Amherst Festival, New Haven's International Festival of Arts & Ideas, Virginia Waterfront international Arts Festival, Chautauqua, The Indiana Early Music Festival, The Redwoods Festival in Santa Rosa, California, and Brasilseguridade in Rio de Janeiro.

The Four Nations Ensemble will be joined by guest soprano Rosa Lamoreaux. Lamoreaux is known for her flawless sense of style, incandescent presence, "a wonderfully rich timbre and an amazingly flexible voice" (The Washington Post). She has been hailed for her versatile musicianship, her radiant, engaging, and effortless singing, the diversity of her repertoire, and her many fine recordings. An award-winning vocalist with a busy international career, Lamoreaux is sought after for her beautifully styled readings of repertoire from Hildegard to Shostakovich.

Works on the program include Sonata for flute & continuo in E minor, WQ 124 by C.P.E. Bach (1714-1788); Three arias: Aria: Bereite dir, Jesu, BWV 147, Aria: Scheeight ihr Floten, BWV 210 and Aria: Angenehmer Zephyrus, BWV 205) by J.S. Bach (1685-1750); Deuxieme Suite, from Six Quartets, (Hamburg, 1730) by G. Ph. Telemann (1681-1767); Sonata IV for violin & harpsichord in C minor, BWV 1017 by J.S. Bach; Two Arias with Interlude: Aria: Seele, deine Spezereien [Easter Oratorio], BWV 249; Adagio, ma non tanto, e dolce [Concerto in A for flute, violin & harpsichord], BWV 1044; Aria: Mein Glaubiges Herze, BWV 68 by J.S. Bach.

Copyright © 2019. National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved. 500 Fifth St. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement
Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software